Trinity Buckwheat

Trinity Buckwheat Plant Information

Trinity Buckwheat grows in the following 1 states:


Eriogonum alpinum is a species of wild buckwheat known by the common name Trinity buckwheat.

This rare plant is endemic to northern California. It is known from only about ten occurrences in the Mount Eddy and Cory Peak areas of the Trinity Mountains, within the Shasta-Trinity National Forest in southern Siskiyou County and northwestern Trinity County.
It grows in rocky serpentine soils at elevations of 2,185-2,900 metres (7,169-9,514ft), in subalpine coniferous forest, upper montane coniferous forest, and alpine fell-field habitats. The Trinity Mountains are a range of the Klamath Mountains System.
Eriogonum alpinum is a perennial herb growing in mats, no more than 15 centimetres (5.9in) wide and 8 centimetres (3.1in) tall. The woolly greenish leaves are rounded and one to three centimeters long.
The plant produces an erect inflorescence of bright yellow to pinkish flowers, each under a centimeter wide.
The fruit is an achene about half a centimeter long.
This species is a California Department of Fish and Wildlife listed and a California Native Plant Society listed endangered species.

More inforamtion about Trinity Buckwheat.