Squirrel Corn

Squirrel Corn Plant Information

Squirrel Corn grows in the following 25 states:

Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Virginia

Dicentra canadensis, the squirrel corn, is a flowering plant from eastern North America with oddly shaped white flowers and finely divided leaves.

Squirrel corn has small yellow clustered bulblets (looking roughly like kernels of corn), finely dissected leaves, and white heart-shaped flowers. It is a spring ephemeral, leafing out and flowering in spring and going dormant in summer.
It is native to deciduous woodland in eastern North America.

More inforamtion about Squirrel Corn.