Prairie Clover

Prairie Clover Plant Information

Prairie Clover grows in the following 43 states:

Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Oregon, West Virginia, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington

Dalea is a genus of flowering plants in the legume family, Fabaceae. Members of the genus are commonly known as prairie clover or indigo bush. Its name honors English apothecary Samuel Dale (1659-1739). They are native to the New World, where they are distributed from Canada to Argentina. Nearly half of the known species are endemic to Mexico. Two species of Dalea (Dalea ornata and Dalea searlsiae) have been considered for rangeland restoration.

Dalea comprises the following species:
The status of the following species is unresolved:

More inforamtion about Prairie Clover.