Dwarf Birch

Dwarf Birch Plant Information

Dwarf Birch grows in the following 24 states:

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Oregon, California, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, North Dakota, Washington

Betula nana, the dwarf birch, is a species of birch in the family Betulaceae, found mainly in the tundra of the Arctic region.

It is a monoecious shrub growing up to 1-1.2 m high. The bark is non-peeling and shiny red-copper colored. The leaves are rounded, 6-20 mm diameter, with a bluntly toothed margin. The leaves are a darker green on their upper surface. Leaf growth occurs after snow melt and become red in autumn. The wind-pollinated fruiting catkins are erect, 5-15 mm long and 4-10 mm broad.
Betula nana is native to arctic and cool temperate regions of Greenland, Iceland,northern Europe, northern Asia and northern North America and it will grow in a variety of conditions. It can be found in Greenland, Iceland. Outside of far northern areas, it is usually found growing only in mountains above 300 m, up to 835 m in Scotland and 2200 m in the Alps. Its eastern range limit is on Svalbard, where it is confined to warm sites.
In general, it favors wet but well drained sites with a nutrient poor, acidic soil which can be xeric and rocky. B. nana has a low tolerance for shade.
There are two subspecies:
The genome of B. nana has been sequenced by a team of scientists led by Richard Buggs at Queen Mary University of London, using a plant from the Dundreggan Estate in Scotland owned by Trees for Life (Scotland).

More inforamtion about Dwarf Birch.